Putting robotics at your service™

Free shipping on orders over $200

ABB II to MD25: help me...

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ]

New ( offline )
Posts: 4
Posted: 2012-03-15 14:36 
Hi, I have to connect the ABBII&BS2 to a MD25 board in order to control Dc motors.
Please, someone could help me to find a connection scheme or some tutorials concerning this theme?
I am at the first exeriences with ABB and I have some problems...
Thanks for your support.
By, Guido


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2012-03-15 14:52 
A quick google search yielded the following guide for the MD25.

http://www.robot-electronics.co.uk/htm/md25tech.htm

There isn't much BS2 programming information on this forum though.

Another quick google search for md25 bs2 yielded the following code for BS2 to MD23 using I2C.

http://www.robot-electronics.co.uk/files/md23.bs2

And one for serial control of MD25.

http://www.robot-electronics.co.uk/htm/md25ser.htm

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


New ( offline )
Posts: 4
Posted: 2012-03-15 15:22 
Ok, thanks for the good information, but the problem isn't the software.
I hav some (very...) problems about to wiring the ABBII&BS2 with MD25. Using BS2 original board I have already do this with success, but I don't understand how use the I/O of the ABB.
Thanks for this and others supports.

Guido


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2012-03-15 15:35 
The IO is simply a row of ground pins, a row of power pins, and a row of pins connected to the processor IO pins. To connect the two you use ground and signal. Here is the guide for the Botboard II.

http://www.lynxmotion.com/images/html/build151.htm

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


New ( offline )
Posts: 4
Posted: 2012-03-15 16:05 
Oh, this colour manual is wonderful!
In specific my problem is this: via original BS2 board the I2C connection to the MD25 require 3 wires: 2 signals (Rx and Tx) and a Vdd (ground); the 2 signals are both connected in parallel with Vss (+5V) through a 400 Kohm resistance. In all the schemes of the ABB manual (black and white or colour) I'm non able to find indications about to do this.
I apologize for my "little" problem, but I am blocked on this.
Thanks, Guido


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 9258
Posted: 2012-03-15 16:10 
Stop looking for information on doing I2C with the BotBoard II and simply look for information on doing I2C with a BS2. The BotBoard II is just a carrier for a stamp or atom processor.

_________________
Jim Frye, the Robot Guy
http://www.lynxmotion.com
I've always tried to do my best...


New ( offline )
Posts: 4
Posted: 2012-03-15 16:45 
Thanks! This is a good notice for me!
Thanks for all the supports!
By, Guido


 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]. It is currently 2014-09-02 12:41
Feedback Form
Feedback Form