Putting robotics at your service™

Free shipping on orders over $200

Controlling an airsoft cannon with BBII and PicoSwitch

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]

1, 2
User avatar
Expert ( offline )
Posts: 536
Posted: 2009-06-24 16:22 
Inspired by the Mech-Wars.. uh, Mechs, we've decided to add to the information pool by documenting how to fire one of these model tank airsoft cannons using an BBII/Atom Pro

The gun has a motor and a switch. You turn the motor on and monitor the status of the switch. As soon as the gun fires the switch goes low and the motor is turned off. Now off to attach it to a mech!

Here's a video of it in action.

Schematic:
Code:
             (+) 6vdc 
             | 
             | 
|--------|   | 
| pico   |---o 
| switch | 
|        |---o 
|--------|   | 
             | 
             | 
         red | 
         /-------\ 
         |       | 
         | motor | 
         |       | 
         \-------/ 
       black | 
             | 
             | 
           ----- 
            --- 
             - 
 
 
 (+) 5vdc 
  | 
  |      10k 
  o-----/\/\/\-----o-----> To I/O pin 
                   | 
                   | 
        switch     | 
                   | 
          /        | 
  o------o  o------o 
  | black    green 
  | 
  | 
----- 
 --- 
  -




Code:
Code:
 buttonA var byte
 
 gunSW var bit
 prevGun var bit
 x var word

 button_down con 0
 button_up con 1
 
 GunPin con p0

gunSW = in1
input p12


sound 9,[50\3500,30\3700,50\4000]

main

button p12, 0, 0, 0, buttonA, 1, A_Press

pulsout GunPin,2000

pause 20
goto main


A_Press
  sound 9,[50\3800]
goto fire


fire

pulsout GunPin,4000
pause 20

gunSW = in1

if (gunSW = 0) AND (prevGun = 1) then
 prevGun = 0
 goto main
endif

prevGun = gunSW

goto fire


Step 2:
Get some ammo :roll:

_________________
Curiously enough, the only thing that went through the mind
of the bowl of petunias as it fell was "Oh no, not again."

James "Don't call me Jim" Frye
Lynxmotion, Inc
http://www.lynxmotion.com


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 3578
Posted: 2009-06-24 16:57 
That was the first time I have seen one of those fired. I did not see any rounds fired so I assume it was dry fired? Great post!

Now if only they had a miniture airsoft gatling gun the same size as that tank gun, that would be great on a mech!


I found this video but it is way to big for a mech bot.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A_djlYMFK6s

_________________
Mike

The robotics nut.


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 1130
Posted: 2009-06-25 03:32 
Great vid(s)!

It would be fun to play around with those...

Both of them!

Great work James!

_________________
[b]Share, Use and Improve![/b]
Digging trough: [i]Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control[/i]
Xan's YouTube Channel
http://www.youtube.com/xanore


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 46
Posted: 2010-01-03 18:42 
I've been looking at adding an airsoft cannon onto my rover, and was wondering where you found that cannon. I've seen a few electric airsoft pistols for a reasonable price, but am afraid that once I open them up, the firing mechanisms won't be a contained unit inside the case, and I'll have to fight with the motors etc and build a new case around them. This here looks like a simple unit you just wire up. Any thoughts/ suggestions on where to order? Are most of them pretty easy to modify from a gun into a mini cannon, or should I look for something off of a miniature tank?


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4920
Posted: 2010-01-03 19:44 
User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2120
Posted: 2010-01-04 12:32 
kurte wrote:
I ordered some from http://www.toyseast.com


The link didn't work for me.

_________________
Kåre Halvorsen, Zenta
-----------------------------------------
Zenta's blog
http://zentasrobots.com/
Zenta's YouTube channel
http://www.youtube.com/ZentaOlbaid
-----------------------------------------


User avatar
Expert ( offline )
Posts: 293
Posted: 2010-01-04 12:37 
Try http://www.toyeast.com

_________________
Heard in the workshop: PEBRAC...


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 46
Posted: 2010-01-04 19:36 
http://www.toyeast.com/v3/pdtdetail.asp?pdt_id=A02106714 to be more specific...they have a few others similar too, just for different tanks. Yay for a lot of fun in a few weeks!


User avatar
Veteran ( offline )
Posts: 235
Posted: 2010-09-30 22:29 
Sorry for necroposting, anyone know where to find these still?
My boyfriend wants to put one ontop of my rover, he wants to start small before moving up.

_________________
Say no to real Trees this Christmas.
Real trees are very flammable, and can be a host to diseased insects.
http://blog.basicmicro.comB
asic Micro Blog: Kenjj and Fallentine
Got sick, now I'm back.


Veteran ( offline )
Posts: 122
Posted: 2010-09-30 23:07 
I believe this is the one that Jim is using, the link is:

http://toyeast.com/v3/pdtdetail.asp?pdt_id=A02102961


User avatar
Veteran ( offline )
Posts: 235
Posted: 2010-10-01 07:26 
Link doesn't work in opera or internet explorer.
It goes to http://toyeast.com/v3/ncatlvl1list.asp?cid=3

So i'm unable to buy from them at all, or even find it in the store.

I think this is the turret i'd need too, by the way, how large is the airsoft clip? it's not 1 shot and you're done is it?

_________________
Say no to real Trees this Christmas.
Real trees are very flammable, and can be a host to diseased insects.
http://blog.basicmicro.comB
asic Micro Blog: Kenjj and Fallentine
Got sick, now I'm back.


Veteran ( offline )
Posts: 122
Posted: 2010-10-01 07:31 
That is so odd, that link I posted last night goes to the main toyseast website, oh well... What you can do is what I am doing, go to google.com, type in A02102961 and look for the link that has toyseast in it, the one that comes up for me is toyeast.com - vstank pro parts leopard2a5 airsoft barrel mechanism . I am not sure about the clip size though...


User avatar
Veteran ( offline )
Posts: 235
Posted: 2010-10-01 07:47 
ok.. i think it's showing up ok now.

http://www.toyeast.com/v3/pdtdetail.asp ... =A02102960
http://www.toyeast.com/v3/pdtdetail.asp ... =A02102961
I don't know..

Toyeast's search is broken too, cant even search barrel mechanism..
Those two links work for me now, their site is really messed up.

They have more stuff here, i'm guessing the wiring is the same or very similar.
http://www.toyeast.com/v3/catproductlis ... 988&clvl=4

You think instead of a pico switch, a simple high/low relay switch will work?
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=2463&start=15

_________________
Say no to real Trees this Christmas.
Real trees are very flammable, and can be a host to diseased insects.
http://blog.basicmicro.comB
asic Micro Blog: Kenjj and Fallentine
Got sick, now I'm back.


Veteran ( offline )
Posts: 122
Posted: 2010-10-01 08:00 
Yeah I had a hec of a time trying to find anything on that site, and most of the time it's so slow that you can't even do a search...

I'm not sure about any of the wiring on those, I would assume it's similar...

On your switch it would depend on the rating of your switch and what one of those guns draw for power....


User avatar
Veteran ( offline )
Posts: 235
Posted: 2010-10-01 08:08 
Oh the relay is 30V @ 5A.
Plenty of the motor on these turrets, no the concern is with the controls.

I assume it would be the same, except besides sending pulses, i would simply set high or set low.
I tested the relay, it works great. Nice and compact.

_________________
Say no to real Trees this Christmas.
Real trees are very flammable, and can be a host to diseased insects.
http://blog.basicmicro.comB
asic Micro Blog: Kenjj and Fallentine
Got sick, now I'm back.


1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]. It is currently 2014-11-26 05:55
Feedback Form
Feedback Form