Please be cautious when opening shady emails such as this one that I received earlier today:
Bad scammer wrote:
Dear Customer,
This e-mail was send by lynxmotion.com to notify you that we have temporanly prevented access to your account.
We have reasons to beleive that your account may have been accessed by someone else.
Please click on the following link (or copy & paste it into your web browser):
[Link deleted. Was a link to a .exe file.]
(C) lynxmotion.com
Want some easy ways to tell that it was not sent from us? Ok:
1. Check the "from" address. If it doesn't say
something@lynxmotion.com, then it was not from us.
2. If the email asks for your account username/password, or other sensitive information (social security number, credit card numbers, etc) then it was not sent from us. We will NEVER ask for this information.
3a. If there are links in the email, they will 95% of the time be to either Lynxmotion.com or Lynxmotion.net. We will sometimes link to off-site things if needed, but only in response to a question that had been asked, NEVER in a first-contact email.
3b. Be wary of links that directly go to .exe files. Again, if we do link directly to an exe file, it will only be in response to a question that had been asked, NEVER in a first-contact email.