Lynxmotion Tech Support

www.lynxmotion.com
Join the Accelerator Program
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 4:24 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 160 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:35 am 
Offline
Robot Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:42 pm
Posts: 4755
Nope, I have not had a chance to play with this in awhile. Been busy with other projects and the like. Hope to get back to it sometime soon. Have been trying to decide if I want to continue to do my own code to interface to the 4D system stuff or to use library that is more advanced (http://sites.google.com/site/vilorei/ar ... lcd-screen). This is a nice library that runs both on Arduinos as well as Chipkits (Pic32mx...), which I am also playing with. But right now the Chipkit version of the IDE is not up to Arduino version 1.0 support yet. So he has not updated his library to work with 1.0 yet...

Kurt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:38 am 
Offline
Robot Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:39 pm
Posts: 1697
Location: Quebec Canada
Man.... I need to get back to that...!

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 3:25 pm 
Offline
Roboteer

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:21 pm
Posts: 31
Location: Bristol, UK
No worries. Cheers for the link, the library does indeed seem very advanced!

_________________
ACK and ye shall receive


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:08 am 
Offline
Roboteer

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 5:58 pm
Posts: 19
Hey guys,

Im looking to build a DIY controller with 2 joysticks to control my robots. Problem is its hard to find parts at a single place. I'd be paying more for shipping than the parts themselves. While I was able to find the parts needed in sparkfun I was not able to find a 4x4 keypad. Id like the A-F chars for some hex input. Any one know where I can find the following parts under one roof. Digi-key is the first place I looked however their prices are off this planet. For instance the keypad is close to US$20 I think.

Im looking for,

- Sliding pots with knobs
- 4x4 Keypad
- Momentary switches
- Toggle switches
- Xbee Pros
- AVR mega 2560 board (Arduino isnt my first choice but I can use avr gcc on Arduino mega). So Arduino mega will do.

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:58 am 
Offline
Robot Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:42 pm
Posts: 4755
So far I am not sure if there is any one place, and I know what you mean about shipping costs... Maybe sometime Lynxmotion will kit up some of this stuff. But I end up buying from several different places...

Sliding pots with Knobs: I believe I bought those at Mouser
4x4 keypad - I would have to search our threads again on where first Robot dude bought them and then I bought a couple later. Before I had one with different lettering on it from digikey, that was a lot more expensive
Switches: Almost anywhere, some of mine came from Radioshack
XBee Pros: I am not using pros, but got most of mine from Sparkfun
AVR Mega 2560 (don't have one yet, have old Mega) and several Seeeduino Mega: But got the last few through Amazon.com as I have free shipping (prime).

Kurt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:06 am 
Offline
Roboteer

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 5:58 pm
Posts: 19
Thanks kurt for the info.....From the little research I did I think you guys bought it from http://www.elexp.com/cmp_1604.htm.. Problem is for int. shipping they need a minimum order of US$100. I'm stumped about spending that much just on this site :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:43 am 
Offline
Robot Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:42 pm
Posts: 4755
Yep, that was the one...

It looks like Digikey has more options than before... For example:
http://search.digikey.com/us/en/product ... -ND/255614
These are more expensive than the one you mentioned. They also have a cheaper one with predefined keys...

Kurt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 7:06 am 
Offline
Roboteer

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 5:58 pm
Posts: 19
Thanks. I used MyUS.com in the end to consolidate few orders. So it turned out to be cheaper than Digi.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:48 pm 
Offline
Superguru of Robotics!!!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 8:48 am
Posts: 1141
Location: Netherlands
Hi Kurt,

About 3? months has passed but today finally my mega arrived! The mail man was on his bike... No idea where he started though ;)

Anyhow, I've got some questions and I was hoping you will give me a quick start by answering them.

1. Do I need to power up both the mega and your extension board? Or does your board supply power to the mega?
2. I can't figure out the pin layout by looking at your code. Can you give me a hand by filling/checking the list?


Right-Stick-X 0
Right-Stick-Y 1
Right-Stick-Z 6
Left-Stick-X 2
Left-Stick-Y 3
Left-Stick-Z 7
Slider-Left 4
Slider-Mid 5
Slider-Right 8

Keyboard-Row0 22
Keyboard-Row1 23
Keyboard-Row2 24
Keyboard-Row3 25
Keyboard-Col0 26
Keyboard-Col1 27
Keyboard-Col2 28
Keyboard-Col3 29
CmdKeys-Col4

Left-Stick-Btn
Right-Stick-Btn

Battery 15
Speaker 46
Display

XBEE-Dout
XBEE-Din
XBEE-RTS


Thanks!

Xan

_________________
[b]Share, Use and Improve![/b]
Digging trough: [i]Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control[/i]
Xan's YouTube Channel
http://www.youtube.com/xanore


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:10 pm 
Offline
Robot Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:42 pm
Posts: 4755
Hi Xan,
Will have to take a look when I get back inside, to get pin numbers. The shield will power the main board.

Kurt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:13 pm 
Offline
Robot Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:42 pm
Posts: 4755
Hi again,

Yep it has been a long time since I hooked this up. Also my Arduino DIY Arduino Remote setup has been completely torn up and I replaced it with one of my Arduino 644 boards, which is still now only partially tested. Keep meaning to get back to it.

Trying to update your list...
Right-Stick-X A0
Right-Stick-Y A1
Right-Stick-Z A6
Left-Stick-X A2
Left-Stick-Y A3
Left-Stick-Z A7
Slider-Left A4
Slider-Mid A5
Slider-Right A8

Keyboard-Row0 22
Keyboard-Row1 23
Keyboard-Row2 24
Keyboard-Row3 25
Keyboard-Col0 26
Keyboard-Col1 27
Keyboard-Col2 28
Keyboard-Col3 29
CmdKeys-Col4 - Did not do this with Arduino Version, instead individual digital inputs...
Command buttons on pins: 10 11 12 A13

I allowed up to 8 other digital buttons to go through... These are on digital pins 2-9 (don't remember if Left was on 2 or 3...)
Left-Stick-Btn
Right-Stick-Btn

Battery A15
Speaker 46
Display
I am using an 4D systems OLED which is connected to Serial1 (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/8537)

XBee is connected to Serial2, Don't need RTS as all serial input and output are using USARTS...
XBEE-Dout
XBEE-Din
XBEE-RTS

Hope that helps
Kurt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 7:08 am 
Offline
Superguru of Robotics!!!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 8:48 am
Posts: 1141
Location: Netherlands
Thanks kurt,

This definatly helps :)

Is there a special reason for placing the command keys directly on the I/O? Or is it just because it is easier?

Thanks!
Xan

_________________
[b]Share, Use and Improve![/b]
Digging trough: [i]Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control[/i]
Xan's YouTube Channel
http://www.youtube.com/xanore


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 8:54 am 
Offline
Robot Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:42 pm
Posts: 4755
Xan wrote:
Or is it just because it is easier?
Yep :D
On Arduino, very easy, you can enable built-in Pull-up resistor , so hardware is simply switch connected to IO pin and ground and software is a simple digital read. And with the Mega have lots of IO pins to use...

Kurt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 3:50 am 
Offline
Superguru of Robotics!!!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 8:48 am
Posts: 1141
Location: Netherlands
Ok, that sounds easier indeed. I think I will rewire those then. :)

Did you also drop the pull-up resistors on the keyboard matrix?

_________________
[b]Share, Use and Improve![/b]
Digging trough: [i]Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control[/i]
Xan's YouTube Channel
http://www.youtube.com/xanore


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 2:11 pm 
Offline
Roboteer

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 3:24 pm
Posts: 213
Location: Tucson AZ
Kurte,
I thought you had ported you XBEE configuration code to the Arduino. I havent been able to find it. I'm i wrong? finally have some free time to play.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 160 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
© 2014 RobotShop Distribution inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group