Putting robotics at your service™

Free shipping on orders over $200

Arduino Mega based DIY Remote (XBee)

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 10 of 11 [ 160 posts ]

1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4916
Posted: 2012-02-26 10:35 
Nope, I have not had a chance to play with this in awhile. Been busy with other projects and the like. Hope to get back to it sometime soon. Have been trying to decide if I want to continue to do my own code to interface to the 4D system stuff or to use library that is more advanced (http://sites.google.com/site/vilorei/ar ... lcd-screen). This is a nice library that runs both on Arduinos as well as Chipkits (Pic32mx...), which I am also playing with. But right now the Chipkit version of the IDE is not up to Arduino version 1.0 support yet. So he has not updated his library to work with 1.0 yet...

Kurt


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 1987
Posted: 2012-02-26 10:38 
Man.... I need to get back to that...!

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 31
Posted: 2012-02-26 15:25 
No worries. Cheers for the link, the library does indeed seem very advanced!

_________________
ACK and ye shall receive


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 19
Posted: 2012-04-04 08:08 
Hey guys,

Im looking to build a DIY controller with 2 joysticks to control my robots. Problem is its hard to find parts at a single place. I'd be paying more for shipping than the parts themselves. While I was able to find the parts needed in sparkfun I was not able to find a 4x4 keypad. Id like the A-F chars for some hex input. Any one know where I can find the following parts under one roof. Digi-key is the first place I looked however their prices are off this planet. For instance the keypad is close to US$20 I think.

Im looking for,

- Sliding pots with knobs
- 4x4 Keypad
- Momentary switches
- Toggle switches
- Xbee Pros
- AVR mega 2560 board (Arduino isnt my first choice but I can use avr gcc on Arduino mega). So Arduino mega will do.

Thanks in advance.


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4916
Posted: 2012-04-04 08:58 
So far I am not sure if there is any one place, and I know what you mean about shipping costs... Maybe sometime Lynxmotion will kit up some of this stuff. But I end up buying from several different places...

Sliding pots with Knobs: I believe I bought those at Mouser
4x4 keypad - I would have to search our threads again on where first Robot dude bought them and then I bought a couple later. Before I had one with different lettering on it from digikey, that was a lot more expensive
Switches: Almost anywhere, some of mine came from Radioshack
XBee Pros: I am not using pros, but got most of mine from Sparkfun
AVR Mega 2560 (don't have one yet, have old Mega) and several Seeeduino Mega: But got the last few through Amazon.com as I have free shipping (prime).

Kurt


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 19
Posted: 2012-04-04 09:06 
Thanks kurt for the info.....From the little research I did I think you guys bought it from http://www.elexp.com/cmp_1604.htm.. Problem is for int. shipping they need a minimum order of US$100. I'm stumped about spending that much just on this site :(


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4916
Posted: 2012-04-04 09:43 
Yep, that was the one...

It looks like Digikey has more options than before... For example:
http://search.digikey.com/us/en/product ... -ND/255614
These are more expensive than the one you mentioned. They also have a cheaper one with predefined keys...

Kurt


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 19
Posted: 2012-04-12 07:06 
Thanks. I used MyUS.com in the end to consolidate few orders. So it turned out to be cheaper than Digi.


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 1130
Posted: 2012-08-25 14:48 
Hi Kurt,

About 3? months has passed but today finally my mega arrived! The mail man was on his bike... No idea where he started though ;)

Anyhow, I've got some questions and I was hoping you will give me a quick start by answering them.

1. Do I need to power up both the mega and your extension board? Or does your board supply power to the mega?
2. I can't figure out the pin layout by looking at your code. Can you give me a hand by filling/checking the list?


Right-Stick-X 0
Right-Stick-Y 1
Right-Stick-Z 6
Left-Stick-X 2
Left-Stick-Y 3
Left-Stick-Z 7
Slider-Left 4
Slider-Mid 5
Slider-Right 8

Keyboard-Row0 22
Keyboard-Row1 23
Keyboard-Row2 24
Keyboard-Row3 25
Keyboard-Col0 26
Keyboard-Col1 27
Keyboard-Col2 28
Keyboard-Col3 29
CmdKeys-Col4

Left-Stick-Btn
Right-Stick-Btn

Battery 15
Speaker 46
Display

XBEE-Dout
XBEE-Din
XBEE-RTS


Thanks!

Xan

_________________
[b]Share, Use and Improve![/b]
Digging trough: [i]Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control[/i]
Xan's YouTube Channel
http://www.youtube.com/xanore


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4916
Posted: 2012-08-25 17:10 
Hi Xan,
Will have to take a look when I get back inside, to get pin numbers. The shield will power the main board.

Kurt


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4916
Posted: 2012-08-25 18:13 
Hi again,

Yep it has been a long time since I hooked this up. Also my Arduino DIY Arduino Remote setup has been completely torn up and I replaced it with one of my Arduino 644 boards, which is still now only partially tested. Keep meaning to get back to it.

Trying to update your list...
Right-Stick-X A0
Right-Stick-Y A1
Right-Stick-Z A6
Left-Stick-X A2
Left-Stick-Y A3
Left-Stick-Z A7
Slider-Left A4
Slider-Mid A5
Slider-Right A8

Keyboard-Row0 22
Keyboard-Row1 23
Keyboard-Row2 24
Keyboard-Row3 25
Keyboard-Col0 26
Keyboard-Col1 27
Keyboard-Col2 28
Keyboard-Col3 29
CmdKeys-Col4 - Did not do this with Arduino Version, instead individual digital inputs...
Command buttons on pins: 10 11 12 A13

I allowed up to 8 other digital buttons to go through... These are on digital pins 2-9 (don't remember if Left was on 2 or 3...)
Left-Stick-Btn
Right-Stick-Btn

Battery A15
Speaker 46
Display
I am using an 4D systems OLED which is connected to Serial1 (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/8537)

XBee is connected to Serial2, Don't need RTS as all serial input and output are using USARTS...
XBEE-Dout
XBEE-Din
XBEE-RTS

Hope that helps
Kurt


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 1130
Posted: 2012-08-27 07:08 
Thanks kurt,

This definatly helps :)

Is there a special reason for placing the command keys directly on the I/O? Or is it just because it is easier?

Thanks!
Xan

_________________
[b]Share, Use and Improve![/b]
Digging trough: [i]Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control[/i]
Xan's YouTube Channel
http://www.youtube.com/xanore


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 4916
Posted: 2012-08-27 08:54 
Xan wrote:
Or is it just because it is easier?
Yep :D
On Arduino, very easy, you can enable built-in Pull-up resistor , so hardware is simply switch connected to IO pin and ground and software is a simple digital read. And with the Mega have lots of IO pins to use...

Kurt


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 1130
Posted: 2012-08-28 03:50 
Ok, that sounds easier indeed. I think I will rewire those then. :)

Did you also drop the pull-up resistors on the keyboard matrix?

_________________
[b]Share, Use and Improve![/b]
Digging trough: [i]Theory of Applied Robotics: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Control[/i]
Xan's YouTube Channel
http://www.youtube.com/xanore


Expert ( offline )
Posts: 268
Posted: 2012-08-29 14:11 
Kurte,
I thought you had ported you XBEE configuration code to the Arduino. I havent been able to find it. I'm i wrong? finally have some free time to play.


1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]. It is currently 2014-11-01 06:56
Feedback Form
Feedback Form