Putting robotics at your service™

Free shipping on orders over $200

DiaLFonZo - DIY Remote (Using Kurte code)

Print view Share :
Previous topicNext topic

Page 1 of 12 [ 179 posts ]

1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12
User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2010
Posted: 2012-07-13 14:56 
Hi all,

I am about to start a new project.
A DIY controller that would actualy work... (not like the one i did months ago)

I have see a project and that have kick me to do my own.

Here is the two that i have see.
Want to do something similar but using Arduino



I want to use Kurte Arduino code
DIY Remote Control XBee controller for Robotics...
http://www.lynxmotion.net/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=5447

There is still a lot of choice over hardware to make
I think that using all the hardware of a Turnigy 9X transmitter would be a good start point.
Maybe adding 2 ps3 gimball to the set.

I know we can burn the bootloader of Arduino into the Turnigy 9X transmitter making it Arduino compatible.
Maybe it coud be a good idea to use this processor... but would need many change to the code which i can't do myself.
(but if someone feel like doing that way and help...???)

More to come...

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2010
Posted: 2012-07-14 15:11 
Wow.. there is a lot of interest.. :p

I would like to know who is interested. (i would cut parts for those)
Need to lock the hardware.

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 31
Posted: 2012-07-15 14:24 
Great idea! I'm definitely in the list for one, as long as it is less than $200 :) (student budget you know!)
I'm not the most knowledgeable person about CAD for the design or electronics but will pitch in if it's in layman's terms! Good luck!

_________________
ACK and ye shall receive


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2010
Posted: 2012-07-15 14:27 
Aytum wrote:
Great idea! I'm definitely in the list for one, as long as it is less than $200 :) (student budget you know!)
I'm not the most knowledgeable person about CAD for the design or electronics but will pitch in if it's in layman's terms! Good luck!


Thanks
I want to keep the price low also.
That will be keep in mind while choosing components.

Need to know what we need ...
Switch - Potentiometer - gimbal etc..

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2010
Posted: 2012-07-16 07:47 
One board i am looking..

http://www.sparkfun.com/products/10743


_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 31
Posted: 2012-07-16 07:54 
Ok. There are quite a few options I guess, for the processor board. We could go with what Kurte said,

i) Seeeduino Mega (weighs 25g and has plenty of I/O. Will need a fair bit of soldering and/or jumpers. Costs $43 http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/seeeduino-mega-p-717.html?cPath=132_133

ii) Or potentially an ARM cortex M3 variant, in Arduino Due format and programmable in a similar environment. It has 72MHz processor, 39 I/O, 3 UART and only weighs 17g. I think it is half the size of an Arduino Duemilanove. Costs $44.99
http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/leaf-maple-cortex-m3-p-670.html?cPath=132_137

There are some other $15-$20 boards I can't remember their names but I think they were Arduino compatible.

You could always design your own, but that could be lots of effort and testing and what not.

Or, I guess what most people including myself struggle with is the DIY case. Since you have a nice CNC, you could manufacture different versions of the cases (with OLED, without OLED etc) and leave the electronics for the hobbyists. Sell the whole thing, either in a 'kit of sorts, including Gimbals, Switches etc without any electronics or just the base kit without anything. Then, Arduino lovers can use Arduino boards and Kurte's code, or Propeller heads can use Quantum's Open Source code (pictures above) and basically tailor make the transmitter to suit their own needs. It will mean you have a lot less work and everyone is happy as well. Hopefully.

_________________
ACK and ye shall receive


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 31
Posted: 2012-07-16 08:00 
Mega Pro mini looks pretty good, but I have a few concerns:

a) It uses JST style connectors, 1 of which sells for $0.95, and we need 10 of them. This brings the cost of the board to $64.95 + $9.5.

b) Need a separate FTDI breakout board (more $$$)

c) It only supplies 3.3V, which could mean less range and hence less precise values of the analogue pots.

_________________
ACK and ye shall receive


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2010
Posted: 2012-07-16 08:23 
3.3v could be a problem

I already have like 10 ProMini board and a Arduino Mega

I would like to keep the thing small.
ProMini only have one uart .. :
All depend on how many. I/O I can make a shield board but only if everything is lock down.

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 31
Posted: 2012-07-16 14:39 
The Arduino Pro Mini (ones on your website) can be used I think since it provides 5V. However, the number of pins will be very restricted:





1) 6 Analog in ( 2 pots per gimbal, so 4 pots for 2 gimbals, plus 2 sliders)
2) 1 UART (can be used for Xbee or for USB, not both at the same time)
3) and 14 digital I/O for switches etc.

Further pins can be easily multiplexed, but this could lead to a latency issue. What do you reckon?

_________________
ACK and ye shall receive


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2010
Posted: 2012-07-16 14:44 
Curious.. i don't have a website.. LOL
The biggest problem with ProMini would be the number of UART since we would need one for Display and one for Xbee

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


Rookie ( offline )
Posts: 31
Posted: 2012-07-16 15:03 
HA! Isn't My RC Build your website? I could have sworn I saw it under your name in RC Groups

_________________
ACK and ye shall receive


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2010
Posted: 2012-07-16 15:06 
www.myrcbuild.com is my friend Luis who is in Texas.
He also cut my copters frames.. ;)

I am working on my own site but .. you know .. busy

I would like to make it work under a ProMini but would have to figure how much I/O we need.
We can use Hardware UART on Arduino using normal pins.

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2010
Posted: 2012-07-16 18:07 
One interesting LCD is that one from sparkfun but i have other place that sell it for like 4$
http://www.sparkfun.com/products/10168



also that one
http://www.sparkfun.com/products/8884

There are also 4d System oled display... but $$

On the controller side.. this one look good too
http://www.sparkfun.com/products/10294

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


Expert ( offline )
Posts: 447
Posted: 2012-07-16 23:04 
Hey Dial, have you ever thought about using carbon fiber arrows from a hunting store as your arms on your quad copters? You could have holes cut just slightly smaller then the size of the arrow out of the PCB material you use right?

They are pretty cheep, although I know PCB's are also cheep!


Actually you should have your friend cut quad copters out of un populated spare PCB's they might look pretty cool looking!

_________________
Is the warranty voided yet? ... and why not?


User avatar
Guru ( offline )
Posts: 2010
Posted: 2012-07-17 06:56 
LikWidChz wrote:
Hey Dial, have you ever thought about using carbon fiber arrows from a hunting store as your arms on your quad copters? You could have holes cut just slightly smaller then the size of the arrow out of the PCB material you use right?

They are pretty cheep, although I know PCB's are also cheep!


Actually you should have your friend cut quad copters out of un populated spare PCB's they might look pretty cool looking!


I have MANY different design of Quad-Hexa you can have a look
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/member.php?u=176689

I never used Arrow rods but Helicopter tail boom yes.
The material i use is not PCB it's G10.
And i cut them myself.. :P (My friend cut some too)

New CNC not finished building

_________________
Eric Nantel - DiaLFonZo
UAV/Drones Specialist

RobotShop inc.
Putting Robotics at your service!™
www.robotshop.com

Lynxmotion
Imagine it. Build it. Control it.™
http://www.Lynxmotion.com


1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]. It is currently 2014-11-28 07:51
Feedback Form
Feedback Form